When you get 32 cars trying to turn into the first corner at Killarney International Raceway at the same time, the result resembles a high-speed traffic jam. Which is exactly what it was at the start of both Shatterfix Fine and Millstock Classic Cars races, in Round 2 of the Power Series sponsored by Wingfield Motors at Killarney International Raceway on Saturday 16 March.

Jaco Lambert (two-litre Volkswagen Scirocco) grabbed the early lead, only to be outjockeyed by Louis Powell’s Hoosier Escort on lap three and by Mark Uitenbogaardt’s vintage Ford Mustang a lap later. Uitenbogaardt then walked away to win by 14 seconds from Lambert, Franco Donadio (Donadio Escort) and Eric van der Merwe (Lynx Porsche 924), after Powell dropped out of second place on lap seven .

Neither Uitenbogaardt nor Powell came out for Race 2, leaving Lambert to post an unchallenged win, 40 seconds ahead of Eric Mouton’s gynormous Chevrolet De Ville, the Porsche 944 of Geoff Bihl and Dave Alhadeff”s two-litre Alfa GTA.

The racing was a lot closer in the Burly Pro GTi Challenge, however, with Jurie Swart (Alpine Polo) taking Race 1 from Nian du Toit (Paint Chemicals Jetta) and Jaco van der Westhuizen’s Polo Vivo; all three finished in 1.052sec after eight laps of door-handle bashing and at least three changes of lead.

The second outing was just as hectic, as Lambert and Du Toit mixed it with Van der Westhuizen and   Christopher Swart (Village Paint and Hardware Jetta) for the first four laps. Du Toit then dropped back to finish sixth, while Van der Westhuizen chased Lambert all the way, finishing less than half a second adrift after a superb drive. Swart was third, four seconds further back, well clear of Chris Roberts’ Jetta.

Mention must be made of Giordano Lupini, whose Class C Golf Mk1 sheared a stub axle in practice on Friday and rolled five or six times (he’s not quite sure). The Lupini crew then bought back his 2018 car from its new owner and re-prepared it to race standard overnight. The first time Lupini drove the rebuilt car was in qualifying; he promptly put it on pole and proceeded to win his class in both races.

Dee-Jay Booysen won both Formula Libre races going away in  his beautifully prepared Suzuki RM08, while Andrew Rackstraw (Zetec Mygale 1.8) and Ivana Cetinich in a Formula F1600 Mygale put up two splendid dices for the remaining podium positions. They were less than  a second apart in Race 1, and just a little more in Race 2, with Winston Jardine (Formula VW Reynard) coming up to lend extra spice in the closing stages.





Hide Latest News
View Latest News