Extreme Festival Race Report – Motorcars

Extreme Festival Race Report – Motorcars

Extreme Festival Race Report – Motorcars

Marcel Angel (Ferrari 458) and Charl Arangies (V12 Aston Martin), had the crowd on their feet during their almost speed-of-sound battle in the Extreme Supercar category.

This is about as good as it gets!

 A large and hugely enthusiastic crowd was treated to the most exciting racing of the year so far, during the get\Worth sponsored round of the national Extreme Festival at Killarney on Saturday. 

The first surprise occurred during the morning qualifying sessions when a Lotus Exige turbo in the hands of  the Cape’s Dawie Joubert, snatched pole position from Charl Arangies’ highly fancied V12 Aston Martin, in the G&H Transport Extreme Supercar category.

When Joubert failed to line up for the first race Arangies, who started well back on the grid, became involved in an incredible battle with Marcel Angel’s Ferrari 458. And although the Aston set the quickest lap time, the Ferrari driver remained cool during a period when the two missiles were often side by side. So much so that he somehow managed to cross the finish line marginally ahead of the gloriously sonorous British car.

However Arangies came back like thunder in the second race that he won by more than four seconds. Angel and Jonathan du Toit (Ferrari F430), filled the second and third positions.

The Sasol Global Touring Car opener became a real knock-down-drag-out scrap between Engen Audi team-mates Simon Moss and Michael Stephen, with Moss eventually winning by no more than the layer of bugs on his grille.  Aided by a reverse grid in race two it was Daniel Rowe (VW Jetta), who took the chequered flag. Michael Stephen was able to notch up another second, ahead of Robert Wolk (Sasol BMW).   

Although there was metallic contact between the leading contenders at the start of the opening Motor Mart VW Challenge event there was no serious damage and former Kaapenaar Stiaan Kriel was able to remain ahead of fellow Polo drivers Rory Atkinson and Nic Clarke.     

 Jeffrey Kruger was in great form as he went on to win both of the more sophisticated Engen Polo Cup events. Veteran Charl Wilken and Clinton Bezuidenhout  finished behind him in the first, with lady driver Tasmin Pepper — who set a new Polo Cup lap record — and the promising Jonathan Mogotsi filling these positions in the final.   

Gert van den Berg and Lushen Ramshander were first and third in the two Hankook Formula Vee races. Second positions were shared between Peter Hills and Jaco Schriks.        

Stuart White became another double winner, when he triumphed in the single seater Investchem Formula 1600 category. Second places went to Nicholas van Weely and Cameron O’Connor, with Syabonga Mankonkwz and Alex Gillespie sharing third.

Fabio Tafani and the hard working Marcel Angel were first and second overall in the Ashley V8 category, with Craig Jarvis doing well to claim third in an unfamiliar loan car.

Overall Makita Supercar honours went to Ryan McCarthy, ahead of Andrew Moffitt and Jarryd Evans. 

The third round of the Power Series on May 19, will be the next main circuit event at Killarney.   




Hide Latest News
View Latest News