French Bastille Day Anniversary Meeting

French Bastille Day Anniversary Meeting

Although the driver was not seriously injured, Eugene van Zyl’s Golf was wrecked during this spectacular crash on Saturday.


An initially wet track soon gave way to a clear sky and  some great racing that was accompanied by as many spectacular accidents as a Hollywood car chase movie, during the fifth round of the Power Series at Killarney on Saturday.

Before that however, the Burly Pro GTI Challenge proved to be almost a family affair with the Busi brothers battling it out in class C, while Chris and Arthur Roberts did the same in class A. Eventually it was Marco Busi who was able to claim a class victory ahead of brother Dario. Jano van der Westhuizen took class A from Colin Nicholas Meder, with Chris Roberts in third, while the class B podium was filled by Eden Thompson, Gideon Serfontein and Mario Roux.

The Formula Libre result was more impressive on paper than it was for the guys who crowded the fences and actually saw what happened. Because Dee-Jay Booysen’s Suzuki projectile was so superior to the rest of the field that he appeared able to cruise across the line at the end of the second race, ahead of Byron Mitchell and Thomas vd Merwe.

The large entry in the Mike’s Place Clubman Saloon category was red flagged after Eugene van Zyl’s hugely spectacular accident, with Brennan Green emerging as the dominant factor after the restart. Green’s exit in the second race however dropped him to third overall behind the Golfs of  Clint Rennard and Michael le Sueur, who were only separated by a split second.

 It was the mixture as before in the V8 masters events, with Fabio Tafani finishing ahead of Mark Ridgway and Brian Evans in the overall result.

However, the appearance of several hotshots from other categories helped to spice up the Makita Supercar events. And although Danie van Niekerk, Divan Wentzel and Ernest Roos all retired early, former stock car champion Jesse Huggett fought his way through the field to win overall, from Glen Phillips and Jarryd Evans.

Steve Humble was in great form in his class B Mallock 14B, in the Pirelli Sports and Gt races as he went on to claim overall honours after the retirement of Dawie Joubert’s Lotus Exige.    

 Victory in the Classic Car category went to a born again Louis Powell (Ford Escort), whose speed certainly belied his age.

The next round of the Wingfield Motors sponsored Power Series, with support from Radio Kfm takes place on August 9.    




Hide Latest News
View Latest News