Warning: file_exists(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/log/php_errors.log) is not within the allowed path(s): (/usr/www/wwws/users/wpmccsggyu:/usr/wwws/users/wpmccsggyu:/usr/www/users/wpmccsggyu:/usr/home/wpmccsggyu:/usr/local/rmagic:/usr/share/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/share/www:/usr/www/share/www:/usr/share/misc:/dev/urandom:/var/www/php_profiler/xhgui) in /usr/www/users/wpmccsggyu/wp-content/plugins/security-malware-firewall/security-malware-firewall.php on line 1134 HONOURS AWARD FOR PHIL HERHOLDT - Western Province Motor Club - Killarney Raceway



At the Annual General meeting of the Western Province Motor Club on Thursday 10 September 2020, an Honours Award was bestowed on Phil Herholdt in recognition of his many years of service to the Club and its members.

Phil Herholdt (left) is seen here with WPMC Chairman Gavin Cerff at the awards ceremony in the Adrian Pheiffer Lounge at the Power Series event presented by Wingfield Motors and Kfm 94.5 on Saturday 12 September.

Phil Herholdt began his racing career in a V8 stock car at the Boland oval track in the early 1960s; he moved to Cape Helldrivers in 1967, in which year he was awarded Best Newcomer.

He later became a marshal and then official starter for Cape Helldrivers.

In 1974 he was persuaded by Brian Hoskins to move to Killarney, first as a scrutineer (where he once had the dubious honour of stripping Giniel de Villiers’ car!).

In the early 1980s, he became a Clerk of the Course and still serves the Club in that capacity, nearly forty years later.

He is currently the chairman of the Drag Racing section and, after 46 years of service to the Western Province Motor Club, has no intention of retiring any time soon.

For his dedicated service, the WPMC bestows an Honours Award on Phil Herholdt.