CALL US ON 021 557 1639


Killarney International RacewayHome of the western province motor club


Follow us on




The event on 6th September will be the seventh round of the Power Series sponsored by Wingfield Motors.



# “Friday 5 SEPTEMBER timetable Rev 0”

# “ Saturday 6 SEPTMEBER timetable rev 1”

# “ 6th Sep Power Series SRs”




The appearance of top European F3 driver Sam Dejonghe in the seventh round of the Power Series sponsored by Wingfield Motors, promises to light up the Killarney track on Saturday.

The 23 year old Belgium driver who already has one F3 victory to his credit this season, recently switched to sports car racing and will be seen at the wheel of a powerful ChevCanAm V8 in the Mutlu Batteries Classic Car events this weekend. However with no previous Killarney experience and little time in which to practice (he is only due to arrive this evening), he will not find the going easy against drivers of the caliber of Chris Carolin (Mazda Capella rotary), Trevor Momberg (Ford Capri V6) and the Datsuns of Martin Richards (140Z) and Richard Quixley (240Z).

On the subject of circuit knowledge – something that is far more difficult to acquire than the home ground advantage on which ball playing disciplines place so much emphasis – Gauteng veteran Paolo Cavalieri has it in spades.

This was emphasized during the big Masters V8’s recent visit to Namibia where Marcel Angel was the only master who was able to master him in the unfamiliar desert surroundings. Back on their home territory it is going to be interesting to see how he copes with local hotshots like Craig Jarvis and Charles Arton.

And with the guys in the one–make Makita Supercar category back on home turf after a similar Namibian adventure, their precious metal classes look like being fought out between Nick Adcock and Brad Wadeley (gold), with Gareth Easom and Stuart Spooner starting as favorites for the silver and bronze awards.

Paul Simon deserves credit for emerging as the overall leader in the Jive GTi Challenge, despite having had to accumulate his total in the densely populated class C. However he is only one point ahead of the hard charging Nian du Toit in his class A Jetta 3, who is chasing an overall victory.

Du Toit’s immediate problem in this regard could come from Brett Roach who once had a reputation as a mobile “wrecking ball” in motorsport circles. Driving with more control these days, he is incredibly quick and providing he remains on the blacktop, may challenge the best in class A.

There is no doubt the spectacular Danie van Niekerk is worth watching if only for the way he converts cornering into an art form. On Saturday, the BMW’s of Ebrahim Levy and TruspeSchoeman will join him in a joint effort to stay ahead of the A4 Audis of Andre Johnson and Brennan Green, as well as Clint Rennard’s Golf, in the Midas Clubman events.

With fewer Porsches in the Bigfoot Express Sports and GT line-up, Francis Carruthers’ Juno may receive a surprise challenge from Dawie Joubert (Lotus Exige) and Steve Humble (Mazda MX 5T), this time.

The first of the 16 events on the program is due off after the final practice and qualifying sessions at 10.00. A motorcycle Fan Walk followed by a drifting exhibition, will take place during the lunch break. Admission is R60 for adults and R20 for scholars under 16. There is no charge for kiddies under 12.



The seventh round of the Mike Hopkins Regional Motorcycle Series, this Saturday at Killarney, has the potential to tilt the balance in at least two of the class titles, including the overall lead.

Defending title-holder Ronald Slamet (Mike Hopkins ZX-10R) still bears the marks of a huge tumble at the recent SuperGP meeting at the Old Durban Airport and faces an uphill battle to get back to full fitness by race day. At the same time he faces increasingly strong competition at Regional level, as his rivals come to terms with the strengths and weaknesses of the Evo-spec Kawasaki ZX-10R – the machine to beat in an increasingly closely-fought season.

Slamet will face determined challenges from former champion Malcolm Rapson, who battled through illness to score crucial points last time out, up-and-coming star GerritVisser and class rookie Brandon Haupt, each on a motorcycle that is, on paper at least, the equal of Slamet’s – to say nothing of veterans David Bolding and Jan-Lucas de Vos, each also on a ZX-10R, and perennial dark horse Trevor Westman who, on his day, is capable of running with the best on the seven-year-old Ocean Sizzler R1.

In the 600 Challenge, however, the stakes are higher, if simpler: Hard-riding teenager Hayden Jonas has been ruled out for this meeting after surgery to an injured finger, giving series leader Andre Calvert (Kawasaki ZX-6R) a golden opportunity to build up a commanding lead in the standings. All he has to do is be the first Challenge rider home in each race which, given that his is now the only 600 in Class A, doesn’t sound like too big an ask – but if Calvert stays true to form, he’ll be mixing it with the litre-class bikes all the way, making the outcome completely unpredictable.

Father and son Mark (Planet Electronics CBR600RR) and Alex (Wicked CBR600) van den Berg Mark will mount another family assault on Class B – but look out for hot rookie Jacques Brits (Lize Signs S1000RR) who found superb form in recent outings until he crashed big time in Turn 1. He’ll be back, hoping to prove he’s no flash in the pan.

A somewhat depleted Class C will be decided between Jacques Ackermann on the Jotim R1, David Enticott (Motorwise Daytona 675) and Jannie Stander’s Galvatech ZX-10R.

There will be high drama in the Powersport class, with Graeme Green back on the Thruxton ER6F to challenge class leader Warren ‘Starfish’ Guantario (Calberg ER6F).

But don’t write off the two Suzuki riders, Wesley Jones on the Jack Hammer SV650 and the vastly underrated Brandon Storey on a Factory Lane machine, who will be ready to pounce if either should make the slightest mistake – or ‘Danie van Killarney’ Maritz, keeping the current generation of riders honest aboard the same Suzuki GSX-R750 with which he won the 1986 Regional title.





Design & Development by Bluepearl Design


Bluepearl Design


Quick Contact