Killarney Flower Power Series 7, review

Killarney Flower Power Series 7, review

Photo by Colin Brown

While the (Flower) Power Series meeting at Killarney on Saturday delivered its usual full share of thrills, it also varied from a mill pond to a tsunami experience for some drivers.

Joshua Dolinschek was probably the one who benefitted most from the mill pond atmosphere. With the aid of a Mygale rocketship and enthusiastic family guidance, the relatively inexperienced teenager drove with assurance to take the flag well ahead of the field in both Formula Libre events.

By contrast Craig Jarvis’ seasonal run of misfortune continued when his new, monster V10 Dodge Viper was sidelined in the Pirelli Sports and GT category after a fuel leakage in the engine compartment resulted in it catching alight.

Others who featured, included 15 year old Ciara van Niekerk. Despite being the youngest competitor on the track, she was in fine form while on her way to winning her class in the first Mikes Place Clubman Saloon race. Unfortunately she was forced to retire in the second event.

Finally, a well deserved victory in the Shatterfix Fine Car Index of Performance category went to Arnold Lambert in his VW Jetta.   

Sponsored by Wingfield Motors with media support from Radio KFM, the overall car results (in classes), were as follows:

Mikes Place Clubman Saloons: Class A: Danie van Niekerk (BMW 325). B: Mansoor Parker (BMW 328). C: George Neethling (VW Citi Golf). D: Francois Immelman (VW Golf 1). E: Brendan Moore (VW Golf 1). F: Bruce Meyer (VW Polo GTi)

Formula Libre: Class S: Joshua Dolinschek (Formula Mygale). C: Byron Mitchell (VW Forza).

Pirelli Sports and GT: Class B: Clinton Thorne (Toyota Birkin 7). C: Andre Brink. D: Arno Church ( Ford FVH 7).

V8 Masters: Gold:  Fabio Tafani. Silver: Rob Warrington.

Makita Formula Supercars: Gold: Ryan McCarthy. Silver: Martin Bensch.

Classic Cars: Class S:  Franco Donadio (Ford Escort Mk 1). A: Louis Powell (Meissner Escort). B: Wayne Lotter (Ford Escort). C: Keith Schenck (VW Jetta). D: Dirk Nolte (Alfa Romeo GTV).  



Hide Latest News
View Latest News