Power Series & Mopar Campos 4-Hour review

Power Series & Mopar Campos 4-Hour review

Power Series and Mopar Campos 4-Hour meeting


The Ferrari 458 GT3 driven by Marcel and Dayne Angel came very close to victory in Campos 600 4-Hour race at Killarney on Saturday


The hard fought national Mopar Campos 600 4-Hour Endurance race at Killarney on Saturday, proved a triumph for the Cape, with victory going to Nick Adcock and Danish driver Michael Jenson ahead of Marcel and Dayne Angel.

The winning Ligier Honda and the father and son Ferrari 458 GT3 swapped places several times during the fading daylight hours and on into the night, with these changes often occurring during their pit stops. A Gauteng entered Ferrari 458 in the hands of Charl Arangies / Kitshoor Pitamber finished well back in third place.

Before that, racing got off to a rousing start on Saturday morning, when Dee-Jay Booysen came from behind in his Suzuki RM08, to win the Formula Libre single seater event ahead of Claudio Piazza Musso (Formula Mygale), and Sean le Riche (Formula Renault).

However there were upsets in the Burly Pro GTi Challenge when Johan Pretorius took the flag 4.5 seconds ahead of favourite Jano van der Westhuizen, in an identical Polo Vivo. In class C behind them, acknowledged danger man Brett Roach retired on the last lap, leaving fellow Golfer Dario Busi with a clear run to the finish.

With Pretorius and Van der Westhuizen not featuring in the second race, the class A honours were claimed by Colin Nicholas Meder (Polo 6R). Double victories went to Eden Thompson (Golf 1), in Class B and Dario Busi (Golf), in class C.

But the biggest surprise occurred during the Mikes Place Clubman Saloon events when dominant Danie van Niekerk’s Beemer that  has been in sole control for a very long time, failed to feature in the results. This allowed the Golfs of Shane du Toit and Brennon Green to finish in that order in class A.

The DNF nightmare attacked Dawie Joubert’s Lotus Exige again in the Pirelli Sports and Gt events. And although he won the first race, the greater reliability of Andre Bezuidenhout’s Nissan Juno resulted in the overall victory  going to him. Clinton Thorne did well to claim class B in his aging Birkin 7 Toyota, with Andre Brink (Porsche GT3 Cup), doing the same in class C.

Although reigning champion Fabio Tafani and ace British driver Stephen Young were first and second in the V8 Masters opener, neither of them started in the final. This allowed Marcel Angel (third and first), to snatch overall honours ahead of Richard Schreuder and Brian Evans.

Ryan McCarthy grabbed Gold in the Makita Supercar category , with the Silver award going to Shane Smith.

Franco Donadio (Escort) nailed Richard Quixley (Datsun 240Z) by a fraction of a second to claim overall honours in the thrilling Classic Car category.

The Shatterfix Fine Car events were also close, with Deon Conradie winning the first in his Toyota Twin Cam, however the second race belonged to Elton Hurst (Nissan Skyline). 

The IPC 1-Hour Endurance race that was run in conjunction with the main event, the 4-Hour Campos 600 was won by Sandro Biccari in his Juno Mazda.

The 4th round of the Power Series will be held at Killarney on June 9.      

Hide Latest News
View Latest News