Power Series racing presented by Wingfield Motors and Kfm 94.5 at Killarney is back with a bang on Saturday 27 February, led by the Mikes Place Clubmans Saloons, featuring no less than 12 new car/driver combinations in a 42-strong field.

As always, the Blue Propeller Brigade are the big dogs of this category, notably Danie van Niekerk in the Wingfield E36, Rafiek Pather in the LVTS E46 and Sulaiman Effendi’s Jimmy Motorsport/MCHD E30. Keeping them honest will be Clint Rennard (G&A Promotions/Speed Precision Golf) and veteran Jesse Huggett’s Rico Barlow/Philwest Jetta 2L.

Watch out for Zack Groenewald in the fast but fragile G&A Promotions/Alpine Autohaus V8 Lumina, however. If it lasts the race distance, expect to see Groenewald mixing it with the front runners.

Daanyaal Coetzee (A&M Plumbing E46 M3) and Shane Smith (Truckport E46), both newly promoted from Class C, can be expected to stir things up in Class B while Stacy Wilson (DTM Helderberg Maxima) and Baby Jakes (BMW 535i) will be at the top of Class C, ready to take advantage of any errors at the sharp end.

The SDC Classic Cars welcome their new sponsor, the Skills Development Corporation, with an impressive entry of 29 cars led by Charles Arton’s indecently quick Datsun 240Z and Trevor Momberg in a Ford Capri 3.4L. The car to watch, however, is Class A hero Franco Donadio’s red white and green Ford Escort Mk1, who won last time out from Arton and Michael Hitchock’s Cross Cape Forklifts Mustang.

Melani Cook, the first woman in living memory to win a saloon car race outright at Killarney and the first driver to score a hat-trick of wins in one day, is back, this time in a Volkswagen Jetta, and could well spring another surprise.

Defending champion Fabio Tafani must start as favourite for V8 Masters line honours, with Sean Moore, Mark Ridgeway and Gauteng visitor Rui Campos stirring the pot at the front of the field. Endurance racing specialist Campos scored a second and a fourth last time out at Killarney and will be out to show the locals a thing or two.

The Formula Libre single-seater category staged a massive comeback towards the end of last season and continues its progress in 2021 with 16 entries including Bertus Engelbrecht in the CS Cleaning/TRUSC RM08, Damian White (Draken VW Ray) and James Beaumont’s Formula Reynard, who can be expected to set a cracking pace at the front.

The real dogfight, however, will be in midfield, where no fewer than six evenly matched 1.4-litre Formula Vees, featuring veteran Cyril Somerville (Dolphin Engineering Sting), Zane Amundsen (Lantis), Ricky Anderson (Parow Auto Body Forza), singer Kelly Fletcher (Dolphin Engineering Forza), Donovan Ramsay (Dolphin Engineering Rhema) and Ryno Pentz (Dico 4×4 Omega), will be jostling for position in every corner. Expect fireworks.