Headlining the Women’s Day Power Series sponsored by Wingfield Motors at Killarney International Raceway on Saturday 10 August will be the Millstock Classic and Shatterfix Fine Cars, by far the largest category with an impressive 35 entries, including two ladies – Melani Cook and Natasha Tischendorf.

The Classic and Fine Cars races always turn up an intriguing mix of exotics and highly tuned family cars from the 1980s and 90s, led by Franco Donadio’s giant-killing first-generation Ford Escort. This time however, he’ll face off against cult cars such as Charles Arton’s  Datsun 240Z, Trevor Momberg’s 3.4L Ford Capri V6, Malcolm Uytenbogaardt’s Ford Granada Perana and even the Hoosier Escort of Louis Powell.

Fine Car honours are likely to be disputed again between father Mauritzio (Volkswagen Passat) and son Robert Toscano (Mazda MX-5), with Arnold Lambert’s Anglia to keep them honest.

Nian du Toit and his Paint Chemicals Jetta 3 2L dominated the Burly Pro GTi Challenge races at their previous outing, and can be expected to do so again, with his major opposition coming from Colin Nicholas Meder (International Tube Polo 6R) and Jano van der Westhiuzen (VW Polo Vivo).

But Class B hotshots Eden (Mad Performance Jetta) and Marc Thompson (Mad Performance Polo) had better watch out for talented Class C teenager Giordano Lupini (Accelerate Golf 1 GTi 1.8L) who not only won his class last time out, he beat all the Class B drivers as well!

Hayden Jonas (Samurai R1) goes into the sixth round of the RST Suzuki South Superbike championship with an astonishing record of 10 wins from 10 starts so far this season. He’s now well on his way to an unprecedented clean sweep of the series, but he’ll be the first to admit that places a huge target on his back.

At the same time, arch-rival Ronald Slamet (PLM Motorsport R1) is well aware that if he is to have any hope at all of a fourth regional Superbike title, the time to start winning is now; it’s not an overstatement to say that the championship could be won or lost this weekend.

Keeping the two big dogs honest, and just waiting to pounce if either makes the slightest error, will be Trevor Westman on the Mad Macs ZX-10R, along with team-mates Rob Cragg (another former champion) and Jacques Ackerman.

The latter two are also old enough to join the ranks of the elite SuperMasters, and must start as favourites in this category, along with Quintin Ebden (Print It/Milu R1) and former champion Malcolm Rapson on his family-funded Suzuki GSX-R1000 L7.

Right up with them will be current South African Super300 champion and 600cc lap record holder Kewyn Snyman on the Hillbilly R6, giving all but the top three litre-class riders a hard time – but don’t write off fast-improving Brandon Staffen (AJH Cooling/Keating & Jansen ZX-6R ) or Brett Roberts (Linea R6), each of whom is capable of running with the second tier of Superbikes on his day.

Hotshot rookie Lubabalo Ntisana (LB Auto/Zingle Tyres ZX-10R) is expected to set the pace again in the Clubman’s races, with veteran Wayne Arendse (Kawasaki ZX-10R), Deon Ebel (Honda CBR1000 RR) and Nigel Boer (Quickpos GSX-R1000) to spur him on. At the same time, reserve a special cheer for Breakfast Runners Faizel and Irshaad Mohamed, each on a Honda CBR1000RR, Matthew Reynard (Honda CBR600RR) and Gary Steyn (Kawasaki ZX-10R); it takes a certain amount of intestinal fortitude to get out there and put your bike where your mouth is.

Willem Louw and Andrew Thompson (each on a Kawasaki ER650) are the only entries in the Powersport 650 Class – but they’ll have their work cut out to stay ahead of a super-talented bunch of young Powersport 300 Class riders, led by Jason Linaker (Samurai Ninja 300), Jessen Samaai (KTM RC390), Slade van Niekerk (Yamaha R3) and Tony Sterianos (RST RC390) and Mitch Robinson, each on a KTM RC390.

This Women’s Day-themed race day also marks the return of Zante Otto on the No.73 Hillbilly RC390, in her first outing on two wheels since her devastating crash on April 13 – just being out there makes her a winner in the eyes of her fellow riders.

Leading the senior Class A, B & C championship in the Mikes Place Clubman Saloons going into Round 6 is Ernest Roos (Executive Truth BMW E36) with 111 points – but he’s only two points ahead of Cody Alberts (Alfaholix BMW 330 3L). Third is Johno Kirsten (G & A Citi Golf 1.8L) on 77.

The junior Class D, E & F points log sees Denver Benjamin (Speed Precision Golf 2L) on 91 points, well ahead of Brent van der Schyff (White Knuckle/Magmaster Polo 2L) on 77 and Gary Smith (Volkswagen Jetta 2L) on 74.

The Pirelli Sports and GT races are set to deliver a real ‘Clash of the Titans’, with three of the fastest cars in the Western Cape competing for line honours. Leading the charge will be Craig Jarvis in the Maui Motorhomes Ginetta G57 – the car that holds the ultimate lap record for this circuit – alongside Francis Carruthers’ Harp Aquila CR1 and the extraordinarily quick Honda-powered Lotus Exige of Dawie Joubert.

Chasing them will be the ‘Light Brigade’ – small, nimble sports cars that can give the big guns a fright on their day. Look out for Steve Humble in the Ravenol/Harp Mallock 14B and Sandro Biccari’s Mazda-engined Juno SS3. With 18 entries, everybody will somebody to race against and there will be wheel-to-wheel dicing throughout the field.

There’s also a full field of entries for the V8 Masters and Makita Supercar races. Expect to see Fabio Tafani and Marcel Angel take up where they left off last time out – at the sharp end of the field – with Richard Schreuder in hot pursuit and Sean Moore the dark horse. The fight for line honours in the Makita Supercars category, however, is likely to come down to a three-way thriller between Ryan McCarthy, Andrew Moffitt and Nian du Toit.

Dee-Jay Booysen and the Bidvest/Dico RM08 are expected to dominate the Formula Libre Singles-Seater races, but there is likely to be a serious tussle for second between Byron Mitchell (Dolphin Forza 1.4L) and Craig Hume (Speedstitch Formula Vee 1.6L). 

Our revamped, upgraded Kiddies Korner play area at the Clubhouse is in full swing with pedal karts, jungle gyms and more, as is the fully-equipped Nursery alongside, which has fridges to keep juice boxes cold, nappy-changing and breastfeeding facilities, as well as toilets and wash-up facilities for running repairs. you can even hire the venue for your petrolhead-in-training’s next birthday party.

Watch the racing live on-screen in the New Pits Lounge and on the Clubhouse balcony while you refuel on fine food and ice-cold drinks, then jump aboard the free Hyundai shuttle to catch the action from your favourite vantage point.

Gates open at 7:30am and racing starts at 10:00am. Book at Computicket (https://mobile.computicket.com/event/power_series_round_6/6920730) or pay at the gate: Adults R80, scholars under 16 R20 and children under 12 free.