Fifty-two year old Hilton Redelinghuys, the oldest rider in the field, set the form book on its ear at Round 5 of the Power Series presented by Wingfield Motors and Kfm 94.5 at Killarney on Saturday 10 July by taking the overall win for the day in the Clubmans category on the oldest motorcycle in the field – the 1997 888 Motorcycles Kawasaki ZX-7R.

He qualified on pole and led the first three laps of Race 1 before hot rookie Reginald Seale powered past on the CX International R1, and held on to take second, only 3.798 seconds in arrears. Third, six seconds further behind, was Wayne Arendse on the JJ Smith Trust ZX-10R, closely followed by Willem Binedell’s Lomoto 675 Daytona.

Rob de Vos on the Hillbilly Buell 1125R led Class B in ninth overall, with Breakfast Runners Keagan Stuart-Delange (Honda CBR1000RR), Nick Benn (Suzuki GSX-R1000) and Nicho Venter (Yamaha R1) in close pursuit – all four finished within seven tenths of a second.

Seale was unable to stay with the fired-up Redelinghuys in Race; the veteran and his classic machine walked away to win by an emphatic six seconds, giving Redelinghuys the overall win for the day by a little more than two seconds. Seale, meanwhile, got into a superb tussle for second with Arendse. The two swopped places twice in the closing stages, but Seale was ahead (by less than a second!) when it counted.

Breakfast Runner Jamie Hall, on a Honda CBR600, got the best of a four way-dice for ninth with De Vos, Nick Benn (Suzuki GSX-R1000) and Stuart-Delange, as all four finished within less than a second.

International SuperStock rider David ‘McFlash’ McFadden delivered another master class in the South Motorcycles Superbike races, despite being unable to qualify. He started from the back of the field in both races, slicing through the field on the StuntSA/RPM Center R1 to take the lead on lap two in each outing.

From then on it was ‘service as usual’ as he romped away to win Race 1 by more than 13 seconds from SuperMasters star Malcom Rapson (Racebase GSX-R1000) and David Enticott’s Motorwise/Sarum Engineering ZX-10R, with Connor Hagan (NPH Electrical GSX-R600) the first 600 rider home in fourth overall, after SuperMasters rider Jacques Ackermann’s South/Barker/Stepp Durbanville ZX-10R stopped with mechanical issues on lap three.

Race 2 saw Rapson lead off pole again, until he was passed by McFlash on lap two, coming home 12 seconds adrift after eight hard laps. Ackermann finished a hard-earned third after a lot of hard work ‘with help from friends and family’ got the Kawasaki ready just in time for the start.

Former Powersport champion JP Friederich, in only his second outing on the GR Tax/M1 Car Centre R1, came in fourth, just 0.093sec ahead of a late charge from Enticott, while Hagan was once again the first 600cc rider home, in seventh overall.

Kewyn Snyman served notice that the new Missile Motorcycles ER650 is a force to be reckoned with, qualifying on pole and winning both Powersport races – but he didn’t have it all his own way. Slade van Niekerk (Project Sixty60 ER650) got the holeshot and led lap one in both races but was simply outpowered by the Missile machine in Race 1 as Snyman walked away to win by 5.79 seconds.

Third was David Lindemann, in his first race on the GM Contractors SV650, well ahead of veteran Lance Jonas (BMW Accident Repair Centre Cape Town/Samurai Racing/OneX SV650) while Rob de Vos (MSA/Mag Workshop/Hillbilly Racing ER650) traded places on almost every lap with Zante Otto, out for the first time on the second Missile Motorcycles ER650; he was ahead by the smallest margin of the day, a scant 0.005sec, at the line.

Tristin Pienaar (KTM RC390), son of former SA Superbike star Clinton Pienaar, and HSC RC390 rider Nicholas Hutchings set the pace in the 300cc Class, finishing 10th and 11th overall respectively, just 0.086sec apart after a thrilling duel.

Van Niekerk knocked almost two seconds off his lap times in Race 2, leading three laps in the middle stages and losing out to Snyman by a heart-breaking 0.042sec after a superb ride. Third was De Vos (after Jonas’ Suzuki picked up a gearbox gremlin on lap four) followed by Jonas, Ms Otto, Pienaar and Hutchings, leading the 300cc class in sixth and seventh respectively overall.