Freezing weather with heavy rain and a bitterly cold wind in the morning failed to dampen the hot racing at Round 7 of the Power Series presented by Wingfield Motors at Killarney on Saturday 28 August.

Despite the unpleasant weather, the headline Mikes Place Clubmans Saloons category attracted 31 entries, with Nieyaaz Modack in the MIM Carriers/NSI Racing E46 M3 setting the pace in Race 1, hotly pursued by Clint Rennard (G&A Promotions/Speed Precision Golf Non Turbo) and Raaziegh Harris (Panic Plumbers Golf Mk1). Harris held second for the first two laps before surrendering the position to Rennard, then the two of them chased Modack all the way to the flag, where they finished within just more than half a second.

Next was Achmat Achmat (Beta Machine & Tools BMW 135), ahead of “Baby Jakes” Jacobs’ Executive Decisions BMW 535i, fifth overall and heading Class B. Gary Smith (Truckport Logistics BMW 530) raised a few eyebrows with 11th overall and first in Class F, ahead of all the Class C,D and E competitors.

Class D went to David Franco’s Graphix Supply World Golf Mk2 in 13th overall, Class C to Noel Stander (Volkswagen Polo), 14th overall and Class E to Ciara van Niekerk (Wingfield Motors/Beast Price for My Car Golf 1 2L) in 15th overall.

Modack took the early lead again in Race 2, ahead of son Imaad in the second MIM Carriers/NSI Racing E46 M3, but got it all wrong on lap five and dropped back to 25th place, while Imaad, Jacobs, Daanyaal Coetzee (A&M Plumbing M3) and Cody Alberts fought it out at the sharp end, finishing in that order within 8.2 seconds after nine closely-fought laps.

Roshan Khan (Cool Touch Racing BMW 325is) was the first Class C finisher in seventh overall, Smith headed Class F in 12th overall, Anton Jacobs (All Scale Sentra) took Class D honours in 15th overall and Ryan Large won Class E in the Akwasol Golf Mk1, half a second behind Large in 16th overall.

Defending series champion Fabio Tafani led every lap of the first V8 Masters outing race, but the drive of the race came from Sean Moore. He sliced through the field from stone last on lap one to post the fastest lap of the race on the final lap and missed out on catching Tafani by just half a second. Sander Le Bon finished third, a further eight seconds in arrears.

Moore put in another scorcher in Race 2, taking the early lead until Tafani posted a blistering 1:17.310 on lap three to take the lead, slowly pulling away to win by four seconds, with Richard Schreuder third.

There was no catching Nian “Race Muis” du Toit’s new BMW 328 in the first Thunder Saloons race as he romped away to win by almost a minute from Imaad Modack’s MIM Carriers/NSI Racing E46 M3, with Ammaar Coetzee (A&M Plumbing E46 M3), Raaziegh Harris (Panic Plumbers E46), Anwar Levy (Armien levy Motorsport E30) and Roshan Khan (Roshan Khan (Cool Touch Racing BMW 325is) all over the younger Modack like a cheap suit.

Du Toit shot off into the lead in Race 2, only to go out on lap four, setting the stage for a superb duel between Modack and Harris, who finished in that order less than two seconds apart, with Harris a distant third.

The big V8-engined Mustangs were at a distinct disadvantage in the wet conditions of the first SDC Classic Cars race, which favoured rear-wheel drive fours. Franco Donadio was able to win as he pleased in his immaculately prepared Ford Escort Mk1, with Charles Arton’s agile Datsun 240Z a gallant second, followed by Bruce Avern-Taplin (Toyota Corolla) and Dave Alhadef’s MSP Racing 325is.

The circuit was dry for Race 2 but it was Arton who took the early lead , until Donadio got past on lap three. He was unable to break the tow however, finishing just 1.084sec ahead, with Alhadef third and Ferdi Mouton forth in the first of the big bangers, the Cross Cape Forklift Services Mustang.