Slade van Niekerk retained his stranglehold on the CBR150 one-make series in Round 3 of Short Circuit Racing at Killarney on Saturday 22 May, but he was made to work very hard for it by new kid on the block Tristin Pienaar, son of former SA Superbike star Clinton Pienaar, and on-form HSC rider Bradddon Hutchings.

Race 2 saw Pienaar pull a rocket start to lead the first two tours, only for Van Niekerk to move to the front on lap three. He was unable to shake off the pursuit however, as Pienaar set the fastest CBR 150 lap of the day – a 50.228 second flier – on lap six and finished only two seconds in arrears.

Van Niekerk started the day in fine style, romping away to win by 7.4 seconds as Pienaar and Hutchings held each other up fighting over second – a battle that ended with Hutchings in front by less than a second when it counted. Next home in a lonely fourth spot was HSC’s Abigail Bosson, followed by Billy de Beer and Nicholas Hutchings on the third HSC CBR150, who crossed the line just one tenth of a second apart after the dice of the race.

They were followed by the three HSC machines of Braddon and Nicholas Hutchings, and Ms Bosson.

The final outing was a real thriller as Pienaar chased the champion all the way to the line, finishing just 0.117 sec adrift after 10 hard-fought laps. HSC cousins Braddon and Nicholas Hutchings came in third and fourth respectively after Bosson crashed out of fourth on lap four. Not one to give up easily, she remounted and finished stone last, a lap down.

The combined Super Singles and Super Motard races began on a dramatic note as Super Single rider David Lindemann and Super Motarder Regan Mitchell got into a race-long fight for the lead in Race 1, with Lindemann leading every lap until he crashed out on the last lap, handing the win to Mitchell. He was followed home 10 seconds later by Matthew Vismer and Billy de Beer, who finished just 0.709sec apart after a superb dice.

Even then the drama wasn’t over, however, as Mitchell was penalised for jumping the start, dropping him to third behind Vismer and De Beer, with Willy van Niekerk a distant fourth.

Mitchell made no mistakes in Race 2, leading every lap and coming home 0.606sec ahead of a hard-charging Vismer. Van Niekerk held an early third place, but was passed by De Beer on lap four and then went out on lap eight, gifting fourth to Rohan Swanepoel.

Race 3 was another Mitchell benefit as he took an unchallenged win from Vismer, Van Niekerk and Swanepoel, while De Beer went out on lap six while lying fifth.

Riley Coleman won all three MiniMoto races, followed home in Race 1 by Aaron Lindemann and Storm Williams, who started late and only completed three laps. Race 2 saw him lap the entire field, finishing a lap ahead of Mogammad Adams, Lindemann and Williams. Race 3, however, was a lot closer, with Adams finishing just 0.173sec behind the winner, Lindemann third, 0.145sec further adrift, and Williams six seconds in arrears.