Killarney’s MSA Drag Racing event on Saturday 15 October was first interrupted and then forced off the strip by unseasonal rain, but not before the top contenders laid down some very respectable times.

Top dog for the day was Hermann Mostert’s Toyota-powered Nissan Champ bakkie ‘Jack Russell’, with a wildly spinning 8.82995 second run at 258.86km/h, just 0.05sec quicker than local hero Tolla Daniels, whose Barrascort (a MK1 Escort powered by a force-fed straight six built at the Ford plant in Barramundi, Australia) recorded a time of 8.87644 seconds at 240.82km/h. Third in the premier Class OS was a street sleeper – Yaseen Ebrahim’s Nissan GT-R R35, with a superb 9.59433 run at 243.75km/h in treacherous conditions.

Class OA for naturally aspirated cars went to Saud Bassa’s Nissan-powered Toyota Conquest ‘Yster VVL’ with a best effort of 10.96796 seconds at 198.82km/h, almost a second faster than Romano Crowster’s 11.8433 seconds at 181.99km/h in his VW Golf Mk1. Jode Cupido was a close third in his Nissan Langley at 11.97991 seconds and 192.10Km/h.

Mierwaan Thomas and his BMW M3 aced Class 6S again with a time of 11.53406 seconds at 199.26km/h, well ahead of Lester Mackay’s BMW 335i, who recorded a time of 12.13032 seconds but whose exit speed is shown as 5.94km/h!

Cheston Jantjies, the sole entry in Class 6A, laid down a creditable 14.85560 second run at 145.75km/h in his VW Golf VR6, an unusual car that still has a lot of development ahead of it.

Rahziek Hermanus was the winner of a bigger than usual Class 4S; his VW Golf 7 GTi was good for 11.99707 seconds and 206.73km/h, well ahead of Riyaad Abrahams’ Opel Kadett (12.94389 seconds at 183.47km/h) and Taariq Clark (Audi S3, 12.97428 at 170.04km). Adam Omar and his very quick little Civic took Class 4A with a 13.22934 second pass at 167.11km/h, marginally quicker than the Type R of Darrol Arendse, who laid down a 12.94389 second run at 172.49km/h, but well ahead of Byron Williamson, whose Nissan Sentra was timed at 14.36581 seconds and 152.10km/h.

Zamir Sattar took the Street Legal Class with a creditable 13.64740 second run at 163.32km/h, would actually have finished third in Class 4A, but chose to keep his Honda VTec in street trim – and was still significantly quicker than Mu-een Gamieldien’s VW Polo Diesel (14.27870seconds at 176.11km/h) and the BMW M3 of Mogamad Taahir Soeker (14.73654 seconds at 168.37km/h).

Wynand van den Berg’s Suzuki GSX-R1000 was the only motorcycle to get into the eights in the difficult conditions, with an 8.78728 second pass at 242.99km/h – but several others were knocking at the door, notably BMW S1000 RR riders Thaakier Abrahams (9.02666 seconds at 248.50km/h) and Heinrich Slamet (9.11270 seconds at 243.48km/h).
Class MB for open street-bikes belonged to Damian Barlow and his Honda Fireblade, who came heart-breakingly close to breaking into the nines with a superb 10.05635 second pass at 223.46km/h, while Tohir Allie and his Suzuki GSR600 recorded 11.44370 seconds and 192.67km/h as the only entry in Class MC for street-legal bikes up to 600cc.