Woman’s Day Power Series thriller.

Woman’s Day Power Series thriller.

Woman’s Day Power Series thriller.

A near record regional Power Series crowd was kept well entertained during the Woman’s Day meeting at Killarney, that enjoyed Wingfield Motors sponsorship, with media support from Radio KFM94.5. The day got off to a flying start with several astonishingly quick qualifying times being recorded during the morning sessions.

Among the Classic Cars, Chris Carolin outpaced all the V8’s in his Mazda rotary, while Dee-Jay Booysen’s home-made Formula RM08 notched up the quickest single seater time. Finally, Andre Bezuidenhout was as impressive as any North Korean rocket missile while on his way to snatching the Sports & GT pole position, in his Nissan Juno.

Sure enough, Bezuidenhout went on to record an easy victory in the opening Sports & GT event. He was followed by Johan Engelbrecht (Porsche GT2-R), and Peter van der Spuy in a second  Nissan Juno. However, there was a major switcheroo in the final event that was won by Engelbrecht, with Craig Jarvis (Ferrari 458) and Bezuidenhout involved in a photo-finish behind him

The one-make V8 Masters and Makita Formula Supercars were combined for their first outing. And although the V8’s of Fabio Tafani and Marcel Angel were close at first, Tafani gradually extended his lead. Angel held onto second with Carl Nel claiming third. This order remained the same in the second race.

Supercar honours belonged to Michael Nel after a great battle with Jarryd Evans. Third place went to Andrew Moffitt who was not far behind them. The pack then found themselves reshuffled in the second race, with Ryan McCarthy bursting through to snatch first place from Nel by a fraction of a second. That same second-in-time, was then split by another fraction as Jarryd Evans dropped to third when the three Supercars crossed the line almost side by side, in a hugely exciting finish.  

It was like old times when 44 cars stretched to near the Cape Town Corner (Turn 5), as they formed up on the grid for the opening Classic and Fine Car race. But despite the congestion there was no stopping Carolin’s charge to the chequered flag. Behind him Dave Kopke (Mazda R100) and Eric van der Merwe (Porsche 944 T), had a great scrap for second and third before finishing in that order. Although Kopke and Carolin then changed places in the second race, Van der Merwe managed to retain his third spot.          

In a turbulent first Midas Clubman Saloon race it was Daring Danie van Niekerk who had all the other competing cars behind his Beemer when the chequered flag came out. The remaining places on the podium were filled by Jesse Huggett (VW Jetta) and Clint Rennard (VW Golf). Sadly, red flags followed by delayed restarts, resulted in there being not enough time for a second race.  

Jano van der Westhuizen in his class A Polo Vivo, was an easy winner of both Bold Marine GTi Challenge contests. He was followed in the first, by the class B Golfs of Eden Thompson and Jacques Geldenhuys, with Marco Busi (class C Golf), in fourth place. Juri Swart (class A VW Polo Classic), moved into the runner-up spot in race two, ahead of Mario Roux (class B VW Jetta).  

Unfortunately, Dee-Jay Booysen was unable to maintain his qualifying pace and had to settle for third, behind the Reynards of Garth de Villiers and Mike Verrier in the initial Formula Libre chase. Verrier was first to the flag in the second race, ahead of De Villiers and Sliyabongo Mankonkwana (VW Rhema).   

The next main circuit event at Killarney is a big one. It’s the Cape round of the national Extreme Festival, on September 9.

Hide Latest News
View Latest News