Motor racing returned to Killarney International Raceway after nearly six months of lockdown on Saturday 22 August as the Short Circuit categories led the way with a day of tightly fought contests.

With no less than 20 entries, the CBR150 riders provided action and excitement throughout the field in all three of their races. Main Circuit and National star Kewyn Snyman had an up-and-down day, leading the Senior Class in the first and third races, but dropped out of Race 2 to finish third for the day.

Braddon Hutchings finished second in Race 1, won Race 2 and came home fifth in Race 2, which was just enough to give him first overall for the day on a countback from Jason Linaker, who was third in Race 1 and second in Races 2 and 3.

David Lindemann pulled off a classy win in the Junior Class of the first CBR150 race, ahead of arch-rival Slade van Niekerk and a hard-charging Connor Hagan. Van Niekerk took revenge, however, with two fine wins in the remaining races. Lindemann finished second in Races 2 and 3 to take second overall for the day, with Nicholas Hutchings third in Race 2, and Hagan third in Race 3.

Much the same happened in the Class A category of the Super Singles races, as Mark Roos win Race 1 from Wesley Blake and veteran Mitch Robinson, only to have Blake snatch the remaining two race wins and take class honours for the day ahead of Roos, who posted a win and a fifth in Races 2 and 3, and Robinson, whose tally comprised a third and two fourths.

Kyle Hallick was the only Class B Super Single rider to finish all three races and indeed the only Class B rider to finish Race 1. He was also the first Class B rider to finish Races 2 and 3, beating David Vismer and Andrew Liebenberg in Race 2 and ahead of Jorgen Kruger in Race 3.

Gareth Gehlig made no mistakes in the Supermotard Races, however, winning all three races from Regan Mitchell and Emile van der Merwe, which decided the class honours for the day in that order.

There were only three entries for the Mini Moto pocket bikes, but they provided plenty of excitement as Riley Coleman scooted to three wins. Aaron Lindemann was second in the first and third races but had a mishap in Race 2, handing the spot to Christopher Bosson.

The Superkart category became a race of attrition, as Taahir Salie won the first race from Piet Fourie, Ishaam Enus and Muneer Salie. There were only three finishers in Race 2 – Taahir Salie, Fourie and Enus – and only two in Race 3, as Taahir Salie took the overall honours for the day ahead of Fourie. Darren Liebenberg, meanwhile, took all three Formula M races ahead of the only other entry, Fuaat Gamiet.